Uncategorized

Blood Autumn: An Excerpt From My Upcoming Novel Still in Progress


Crazy Cat Lady Rantings

I quickly change into my jeans and put on my short black leather coat, its early spring and there’s still a chill in the air. Sunday night along the riverfront is pretty deserted, but it’s a great place if you want to sit alone with your thoughts. Relaxing on a cold steel bench I try to remember the events of the night before as a large cargo ship passes by blowing its horn. My mind wanders back to my extreme bloodshot eyes I had when I first woke up.

“I can explain.” Says a voice from behind me startling me, making me jump up from the bench.

“Who are you?”

“Don’t be scared.” The man attached to the voice says.

I quickly step back a little putting space between us incase I need to run.

“Who are you?” I ask again as I take in his features for a future police report. He’s tall about 6’2 with a handsome face with a neatly trimmed mustache and goatee. He has a perfect bronze complexion with a strong chin and mouth. His shoulder length black hair blowing slightly in the wind only enhancing his deep piercing brown eyes.

“Ric.”

“Ric what?” I ask sarcastically.

“Ric Santos, your new father.”

What the fuck is he talking about? My parents have been dead for three years, mangled in a car accident.

“Buddy, I don’t know what kinky shit you’re into but you’re barking up the wrong tree.”

He has the nerve to scoff a laugh and commands me to sit back down. To my surprise I unconsciously obey  him and take my seat again. He sits next to me taking my chin in his hand. In the moonlight I now recognize  him as the man I left with the night before at the club.

“I’m not really good at this and there’s a lot to explain.” He says nervously, “First know that you have since the  time of your birth been one of us.”

“One of us? What the fuck are you talking about?” I yell.

“A vampire.”

A vampire? Is he kidding me? What kind of lunatic am I dealing with? “I’m leaving now.” I get up to run.

He reaches out for me grabbing ahold of my arm. “Milena, wait!”

“Let go of me!” I forcefully pull my arm away from his strong grasp. “How do you know my name?”

“You told me last night.”

“You’re lying! I never use my real name in the clubs.”

“I can read you Milena, I know all about you. Look I know this is strange….”

I pull out my cell phone to dial 911.

“Stop, please.” He begs. “Just listen to me. Give me five minutes.”

“Fuck off!”

“Please just hear me out.” He pleads.

“Go away!”

Ric stands in front of me, his face showing defeat. “You’ll need me soon Milena and when you do just call for me.”

“Yeah Ok, I’ll do that!” I answer sarcastically. “What’s your number?”

He points to his head. “No, I mean mentally, I’ll hear you.”

“Seriously dude you need help!” I turn to walk away leaving him standing in the moonlight. “Don’t you dare  follow me or I’ll call the cops!” He nods and walks away in the opposite direction. I look back over my shoulder  to make sure he isn’t following. He’s a loony tune, but I have to admit his ass in those tight jeans is a nice view.

Hope you enjoyed. Tell me what you think. I Would love your feedback!

View original post

Standard

Leave a Reply

